Somerset Bridge

24 09 2006

The new bridge over the Rideau Canal opened yesterday. I went down to see it. I love the new bridge because it is only for walkers and cyclists. It is not for drivers at all. And it is a fine little bridge!

In the distance you can see its big brother, the Laurier bridge.

somersetbridge02-540.jpg

Then I walked home. I saw all kinds of things!

Some cops going to a wedding
copwedding540.jpg

When you use a telephoto lens it flattens out perspective, so distant things seem like they are on the same level as closer things. In this picture I was hoping that this effect would create a striking connection between the cops’ helmets and the streetlight globes. It’s there but it isn’t that striking, maybe because they aren’t the same colour. Maybe if I was a Photoshop wizard I could just brighten up the streetlights, and this would be a lot better picture; but I’m not.

I followed the cops to the lawn of the Supreme Court, where the bride was waiting. I didn’t know you could get married on the lawn of the Supreme Court! I guess you can if you’re a bunch of cops.

copbride540.jpg

A frieze of a bunch of soldiers
frieze540.jpg

A very surprised building
openmouthbuilding.jpg

People and statues
peopleandstatues540.jpg

This picture shows the flattening effect of a telephoto lens. The stairs don’t look like stairs, they look like a wall, because the people at the top are the same size as those at the bottom.

And not only that, one of the statues has a bird on its head!

The Eternal Flame
eternalflame540.jpg

Autumn leaves
leaves1-540.jpg

And then I was home.


Actions

Information

4 responses

24 09 2006
zoom!

I laughed out loud at The Very Surprised Building. And that was my first ever glimpse of the new bridge.

I hope you keep up with the blog – I love it!

26 09 2006
Dakota

I am just popping over from Knitknut’s (a.k.a Zoom!) blog, to say hi!

You have a great blog, lovely pictures….keep up the good work 🙂

23 01 2008
21 03 2009

Leave a comment