Museum of big things

6 10 2006

This was the kind of day when it was hard to take a picture that didn’t look like it belonged on a calendar, such as this perfect autumn tree.

 pic-046.jpg

But enough about nature! I’m tired of nature. Today I visited Ottawa’s little-known Museum of big things, also known as No.4 Generating Station

pic-031.jpg

Look at those big things! What could they be? The generating station does not explain.

Big thing 1
pic-020.jpg

Big thing 2
pic-026.jpg

Big thing 3
pic-028.jpg

Then I rode home through Westboro. I continued to have many questions, such as “What is this?” The writing doesn’t appear to be using the alphabet as I know it, and those stars are scary. Is an attack imminent? I can’t even understand it well enough to Google it. (I just noticed that they are stars of david. Is this message written in Hebrew?)

pic-065.jpg

One-stop shopping?

pic-075.jpg

Nice van!

pic-081.jpg

TV shrine. Did it meet an untimely end? Maybe Elvis shot it.

tvshrine.jpg

Conch meat (very clean), beef feet. Yum!

pic-099.jpg

And what is this? They’re going to need more than that big leaf to keep away such a hard rain. Or is that a cliff they might fall off? And look at those ducks sneaking up on them! Yikes!

pic-095.jpg

Anyway, it was a beautiful and puzzling day in October.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment